NEWS FLASH! Calling all FIRN Members to help fight stereotyping

Just weeks after Google launched a $50million program to help address barriers to girls getting involved in science, technology, engineering and maths; and despite evidence that stereotypes and cultural biases still impede women’s success in these disciplines…the sanitary napkin producer Libra has rolled out a new advertising campaign stereotyping women in a manner that is completely opposite to what such initiatives are aiming to achieve.

Libra’s new advertising slogan “….absorbing more than you ever did in maths”… brings to the attention the need for vigilance in our efforts to eliminate stereotyping.  As members of the F.E.W. we are women who can do math, and we are role-models for young women, thus our efforts to protest against such stereotypes can only help raise the barriers that contribute to the relative underrepresentation of women in our professions of finance and economics.  There is no biological difference between women and men in their ability to do math. The literature clearly identifies negative stereotyping as one of the important reasons why girls may underperform in math and this type of advertising reinforces this stereotyping.

All FIRN members are asked to sign the petition at which calls on Libra to stop this continued stereotype portrayal of women in a manner that is unacceptable.

Click Here for Latest FIRN Newsletter 

2014 Research Events
Asset Pricing Research Group Meeting - Melbourne
The 2014 Asset Pricing Group Meeting will trial a unique format featuring new research by four (4) of today’s leading young researchers including: Christian Heyerdahl-Larsen (London Business School); Haoxiang Xhu (MIT) and Tim McQuade (Stanford) and Bradyn Breon-Drish (Stanford).
Guest keynote presenter will be
Wayne Ferson (University of Southern California).


29th - 30th October
Wednesday October 29: 12:00pm to 6:00pm including lunch followed by Group Dinner
Thursday October 30: 9:00am to 12:30pm

Univeristy of Melbourne, Department of Finance
No charge. Participants must cover their own travel and accommodation costs.
Click here to download Call for Participants.

Annual "The Art of Finance" Conference - Lake Crackenback, NSW Snowy Mountains
New Conference Announcements
Best Paper Prize $1,000 sponsored by IJMF
Best Policy Research Paper Prize $10,000 sponsored by FIRN
New Eminent International Program Committee
 Top three (3)* papers submitted to the Policy Prize category will receive for the first time
a written referee report by the international program committee

            *this number may change depending upon number of submissions received


Registration Fee:
13th - 16th November
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, NSW Snowy Mountains (between Jindabyne & Thredbo)

Submission Deadline: Sunday, 31st August  Click here to download Call for Papers:

Submission Categories:
  • International New Hire staff (staff new to Australia and who have been appointed within the last 18 months)
  • FIRN Researchers (Open to PhD students)
  • A* Top Tier Publications for 2014
  • $10,000 Prize for Best Policy Influencing Research Paper **

2014 PhD Courses
Presented by David Michayluk and Talis Putnins at University of Technology, Sydney during 2nd semester, 2014.

Course forms part of the FIRN National PhD Program and is open to all PhD students and academic staff from FIRN member and invited institutions.  Please email the FIRN Executive Officer ( indicating your intention to participate in this course and providing a copy of your PhD Supervisors or PhD Coordinators approval.

  • Module 1 Friday/Saturday August 22 and 23
  • Module 2 Friday/Saturday September 12 and 13
  • Module 3 Friday/Saturday October 17 and 18
Click here for more course details.

Finance Theory and Empirical Finance courses

Tom Smith will again present these two courses at The University of Queensland Business School during 2014.
Courses form part of the FIRN National PhD Program and are open to all PhD students and academic staff from FIRN member institutions. 
PhD students may obtain credit for these courses as part of their PhD coursework program.

Finance Theory course dates for 2014 are:
  • Module 1 Saturday/Sunday 1st -2nd March
  • Module 2 Saturday/ Sunday 5th -6th April
  • Module 3 Saturday/ Sunday 3rd -4th May
Click here for course details

Empirical Finance course dates for 2014 are:
  • Module 1 Saturday/Sunday 26th - 27th July
  • Module 2 Saurdayt/Sunday 30th - 31st Aug
  • Module 3 Saturday/Sunday 27th - 28th September

Click here for course details

Calendar of Events

September 12th-13th

  • Market Microstructure course - Module 2
    UTS, Sydney

September 27th-28th

  • Empirical Finance course - Module 3
    UQBS, Brisbane

October 17th-18th

  • Market Microstructure course - Module 3
    UTS, Sydney

October 29th-30th

  • Asset Pricing Group research meeting University of Melbourne

November 13th-16th

  • FIRN Conference
    Summer in the Snowies Lake Crackenback Resort, NSW Snowy Mountains.
November 27th -29th
  • Accounting & Finance Research Forum
    hosted by UWA & UQ
    UWA, Perth


  • FEW Eminent Visitor Presentation and Christmas Cocktails

Calendar of Events

January 3

  • FIRN Australian Fine Wine Reception at AFA Boston, Westin Hotel (by invitation)
  • F.E.W. Group International Womens Day Events Sydney/Melbourne/Brisbane

March 14-15

  • Empirical Asset Pricing: Hedge Funds course presented by Jens Jackworth (University of Konstanz, Germany) University of Sydney Module 1 of 3
March 28-29
  • Empirical Asset Pricing: Hedge Funds course presented by Jens Jackworth (University of Konstanz, Germany) University of Sydney Module 2 of 3
April 18-19
  • Empirical Asset Pricing: Hedge Funds PhD course presented by Jens Jackworth (University of Konstanz, Germany) University of Sydney Module 3 of 3
June 15-19
  • FIRN Corporate Finance Masterclass: Topic TBC
    presented by Gordon Phillips (University of Southern California)

Sept 28 - Oct 2
  • FIRN Asset Pricing Masterclass: Topic  Market Microstructure presented by Marco Pagano (University of Naples Federico II)

Madonna Stevenson,
8 May 2014 00:14